Updating Manually

  1. Make a backup of your Database.
  2. Download the latest release of your current Drupal version.
  3. Extract the [tar ball or zip] Drupal package.
  4. Got to Admin > Configuration > Development > Maintenance mode and set your site on maintenance mode.
  5. Delete all the files & folders inside your original Drupal instance except for /sites and its sub-folders and except for /profiles/cms because this is where the files of the Glazed CMS distribution are. We don't want to delete those.
  6. Copy all the folders and files except /sites from inside the extracted Drupal package [tar ball or zip package] into your original Drupal instance location.
  7. Some updates do not include changes to setting.php and some do.
  8. If you have modified files such as .htaccess or robots.txt re-apply those changes to the new files.
  9. If you have a favicon.ico file that was deleted replace it too
  10. Login to your site as administrator or as user no 1
  11. Run update.php by navigating to http://example.com/update.php and follow the process to update your Drupal instance
  12. Got to Admin > Configuration > Development > Maintenance mode and disable maintenance mode
  13. Check that everything works. Go around your site and test everyhting!


Updating With Drush

  1. Make a backup of your Database.
  2. Put your site in maintenance mode:
    drush vset --exact maintenance_mode 1
    drush cache-clear all
  3. Unfortunately Drush will remove the installation profile files in /profiles/cms. For this reason you have to copy this folder somewhere outside of the Drupal root so that you can easily copy it back later.
    cp profiles/cms /tmp
  4. Update Drupal with drush:
    drush up drupal
  5. Copy back the /profiles/cms folder
    cp /tmp/cms /profiles
  6. Check that everything works. Go around your site and test everyhting! If you had modified robots.txt or .htaccess, make sure the modifications are reapplied.
  7. Put your site online again
    drush vset --exact maintenance_mode 0
    drush cache-clear all